Random Start #1: ‘The Lights Went Out’ – The Cribs

I have been following Riley Breckenridge, the drummer from Thrice, for quite some time now via his Tumblr Trawling The Grey Matter, and he has a great idea for daily blog posts (that he may or may not have stolen from someone else) entitled ‘Random Start’. The idea is basically to load up iTunes every day, enable the ‘shuffle’ control, and write about the first song that comes up, without cheating or shuffling until some form of a ‘credible’ song appears. Every one has that shameful album or song, and  i’m sure that many of mine will become apparent seeing as I am going to start doing these daily ‘random start’ posts from now on. And here we go…

I used to absolutely love The Cribs. Whilst this song isn’t exactly one of their best, I used to love the scrappiness of the instrumentation whilst somehow maintaining some incredibly catchy melodies. I was also very young and naive, and I can’t help but think that I purely enjoyed their music because they were soooooooo Rock ‘n’ Roll! I have stopped listening to them altogether now really, although that’s not to say I don’t still enjoy them. ‘Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever’ is still a very good album in my opinion and when a song off that album appears on my shuffle I tend to leave it on and fully enjoy it in all its greasy northern-ness.

I still find it a bit perplexing how Johnny Marr is now a part of The Cribs. It all happened very quickly and very quietly, after being the equivalent of a musical hooker, catering to the needs of Modest Mouse before The Cribs started giving him extra for his services. Johnny Marr was in one of the greatest bands of all time and then goes and plays guitar in an average indie band who are gradually wittling away behind all these new upcoming bands, I just don’t get it. Maybe he should start playing guitar for that Morrissey guy, they might go well together.

3 Comments

Filed under Music, Random Start

3 responses to “Random Start #1: ‘The Lights Went Out’ – The Cribs

  1. The first Senses Fail EP…

  2. He is playing with The Cribs? That just isn’t right. He wrote the soundtrack to a generation, not the back pages of NME.

Leave a Reply

