Random Start #9: ‘Hand In Glove’ – The Smiths

I absolutely LOVE The Smiths and have done for a number of years now. I don’t like to generalize and call Smiths fans old, but most of them grew up when The Smiths were around and I am fairly young for a devout Smiths fan, I blame this on my father who is a massive Smiths and Morrissey fan. This has been passed on to me and I now look up to The Smiths and Morrissey as musical idols. Despite seeing Morrissey about 6 times and only actually seeing him play a full set three times due to him collapsing, walking out and whatever other reasons, I still think he is a brilliant man albeit very opinionated and stubborn. ‘Hand In Glove’ is one of those classic Smiths songs that you can play wherever, whenever and fully enjoy it. I love Marr’s guitar playing in this song especially and the lyrics are pure unadulterated Morrissey. There are various different versions of this song, the studio version (above), the live Hatful of Hollow version, but there is also a really good live video of them performing on the old BBC programme ‘The Tube’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Random Start

Leave a Reply

