Kanye West’s ‘Runaway’

Bloggers across the globe have been waiting for Kanye’s latest album, ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ which is released on November 22nd, but whilst we are all sitting on the edge of our seats, Kanye’s short film ‘Runaway’ has finally touched down on the internet, giving a brilliant insight into the forthcoming album and dangling a rather large carrot in front of every single one of his fans.

I watched ‘Runaway’ this morning and I must say I ended up rather transfixed. Directed by Mr. West himself, it is a twisted love-story between Kanye and a mysterious woman dressed in a provocative feather outfit, who is apparently a phoenix but to me just looked like a mysterious woman dressed in a provocative feather outfit. To put it into a nutshell, this phoenix woman crashes down to earth, Kanye shows her various beautiful things like sheep, rabbits and deers (?) and from what I gather, they become lovers. After various drastically different scenarios, the phoenix woman ends up leaving Kanye and flying into the sky to ‘burn’, which apparently is compulsory for every phoenix. Once Kanye realizes that she has left him, he runs to try and find her, and the film ends pretty abruptly there, with the phoenix about to burn. It sounds a bit weird, and it is, but there seems to be a lot of meaning behind the whole thing and I think you are meant to focus on what is in the background rather than the foreground. When I watched it I personally thought that it was a complete egotistical mish-mash but I still ended up watching the whole thing, I found it pretty compelling. I thought the filming itself was very good, and all the featured songs sound absolutely BRILLIANT. If ‘Runaway’ is anything to judge the album by, it will definitely be his most eclectic work so far, albeit extremely guest-heavy. Watch it for yourself, my description is very, very brief.

The song that I enjoyed the most was the one with Rihanna on guest vocals, entitled ‘All Of The Lights’. Rihanna seems to be the catalyst that forms a hit single and although she features on almost every single song nowadays, it ALWAYS works. I would knock Rihanna but I really can’t, I do actually enjoy a lot of her songs as pop singles and they are much more listenable than 99% of the rest of the stuff on the radio. ‘Lost In The World’ featuring the Bon Iver sample from his song ‘Woods’ also sounds brilliant. One word I would use for that song is ‘uplifting’, and with the accompanying video it gives a whole different meaning to the song.

So I would definitely urge you to watch it. It isn’t particularly amazing, and at the end of the day it is just a half-hour promo for the album, but I am resisting the urge to watch it for a second time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

